|
View previous topic
::
View next topic
|
| Author |
Message |
Guest
Guest
|
Posted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 9:01 pm
Post subject: Don't open this Paypal email!
|
|
|
This is an email I received from accounts@paypal.com:
__
Dear PayPal ? valued member,
Due to concerns we have for the safety and integrity of the PayPal
community we have issued this message.
It has come to our attention that your PayPal account information needs to be updated.
If you could please take 5-10 minutes out of your online experience and update your
records you will not run into any future problems with the online service.
However, failure to update your records will result in account suspension.
Please update your records by 29 February 2004.
Once you have updated your account records your PayPal will not be
interrupted and will continue as normal.
Please follow the link below
and update your account information.
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_login-run
PayPal Accounts Department
__
Here is the dirty trick with the link:
<a onMouseOver="status='https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_login-run'; return true" onMouseOut="status='';return true" href="http://www.https-server.org/paypal/">https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_login-run</a>
I opened the link and the site tried to install a TROJAN HORSE!!! I use McAfee Virusscan to scan all the pages I surf on for this crap. Most people don't use this internet filter.
I have sent a complaint to Paypal.com (ebay) and I didn't get an email back. What has changed, is the fact that the http-server.org doesn't work anymore.
I just want to warn you people! Trojan horses make your computer vulnerable so other people can delete your hard disk etc.
I don't know why Paypal sends such an email to screw people. And yes, I checked the emailadress twice where it came from: accounts@paypal.com . |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Debs
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Posts: 4296
Location: NY
|
Posted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 10:36 pm
Post subject:
|
|
|
The first thing you should realize, is common sense has to prevail. No reputable company will ask you to verify information in the manner that email does.
I also received that email, but I forwarded it, with headers in view, to Paypal and to the FTC.
Debs _________________ Learn how to turn keyphrases into quality, well-targeted articles your visitors and SE's will love with Gary Antosh's new ebook "Web Content Made Easy!" |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Warburton
Joined: 14 Nov 2003
Posts: 136
Location: London
|
Posted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 11:26 pm
Post subject:
|
|
|
| Quote: | | I don't know why Paypal sends such an email to screw people. And yes, I checked the emailadress twice where it came from: accounts@paypal.com . |
It's a snap to modify email headers. You can rest assured that the email was not from PayPal. It's written by a teenager anyway. You can tell from the way the sentences are written. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Debs
Joined: 16 Aug 2003
Posts: 4296
Location: NY
|
Posted: Thu Feb 19, 2004 11:39 pm
Post subject:
|
|
|
I agree with Warburton, it didn't come from paypal, the email was spoofed to make you think it did.
Debs _________________ Learn how to turn keyphrases into quality, well-targeted articles your visitors and SE's will love with Gary Antosh's new ebook "Web Content Made Easy!" |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
| View previous topic :: View next topic |
|